Shortlisted nominees announced for ABC Senior Sports Awards 2023


The shortlist for this year’s Armagh Banbridge and Craigavon’s Senior Sports Awards has been announced, with a multitude of sports clubs, individual athletes and inspirational volunteers across the borough recognised for their talent and achievements.

Some 42 nominations across eight categories made it to the shortlist, demonstrating that Armagh Banbridge and Craigavon Borough is a beacon of participative sporting excellence. The judging panel was very impressed by the exceptionally high standard of nominations submitted.

The shortlisted nominees will join representatives from Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Sports Forum, Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council and headline sponsor Ulster Carpets at the Seagoe Hotel, Portadown on Thursday 9 March to celebrate their collective sporting achievements and hear the winners announced.

The shortlisted individuals, teams and clubs vying for the top spots include:

Volunteer Awards sponsored by Kingspan Water and Energy Ltd
Kathryn Morton (Ballyvally Archers, Banbridge), Gavin Duffy (Gilford Amateur Boxing Club), Neil Teggart (Banbridge Cycling Club), Mary McMahon (Sean Treacy’s Hurling Club), Teresa McDonnell (Banbridge & Rathfriland Karate Club), Matthew Potts (Portadown Rugby Football Club), Chris Judge (Lough Neagh Monster Dunkers).

Sports Person/Team with a Disability sponsored by Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council
Banbridge Rugby Football Club’s Mixed Ability Team, Dale Moore (Armagh Special Olympics Swimming Club), Alison McKinley (Ripples Special Olympics Swimming Club).

Senior Team of the Year sponsored by Downshire Arms Hotel
St Peter’s Athletic Club Women’s Cross Country Team, Banbridge Bowling Club Pairs Team, Laurelvale Cricket Club 1st XI Team, Clann Eireann Gaelic Athletic Club Senior Ladies Team, Rathfriland Football Club 1st XI Team, Sean Treacy’s Hurling Club Senior Team, Richhill Tug of War Club Senior Team.

Senior Coach of the Year sponsored by Sport Northern Ireland
Andy Brown (Armagh Hockey Club), Kevin Broderick (Banbridge & Rathfriland Karate Club), Callum Grieve (Craigavon Aztecs Volleyball Club).

Club of the Year sponsored by Playr-Fit
St Peter’s Athletic Club, Lurgan Bowling Club, Clann Eireann Gaelic Athletic Club (Ladies Section), Banbridge Golf Club, Banbridge & Rathfriland Karate Club.

Service to Sport Awards sponsored by Campbell’s Eurospar
Declan Maher (Sean Treacy’s Hurling Club), Dorothy Johnston (Dot’s Swim Club & Lough Neagh Monster Dunkers).

Sportswoman of the Year sponsored by Ulster Carpets
Chloe Wilson (Portadown Ladies Bowling Club), Nikkala Polojski (Banbridge & Rathfriland Karate Club), Kelly Mallon (Madden Road Bowls Club & Armagh Harps GFC), Emma Bowring (Sean Treacy’s Hurling Club), Niamh Marley (Dungannon RFC and Lissummon GFC), Janine Forrest (Richhill Taekwondo Club), Helen Perry (Tri Limits Triathlon Club).

Sportsman of the Year sponsored by Ulster Carpets
Mark Nesbitt (Ballyvally Archers, Banbridge), Jack Moffett (Banbridge Bowling Club), Franko Duffy (Dungannon Clay Target Club), Matthew Teggart (Banbridge Cycling Club), Kane Laverty (Sean Treacy’s Hurling Club), Steven Liggett (Banbridge & Rathfriland Karate Club), John Meara (South Down Motorcycle Club), Daniel Wiffen (Larne Swimming Club).