Shortlist announced for ABC Senior Sports Awards 2022

SSA Launch Photo
Pictured at the launch of the Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council Senior Sports Awards are The Lord Mayor, Alderman Glenn Barr, Edith Jamison, Chair of the Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Sports Forum Nick Coburn and Denise Watson,U105 compere

The eagerly awaited shortlist has been announced for the 2022 Armagh, Banbridge & Craigavon Senior Sports Awards which will take place on Thursday 3 March at the Belmont House Hotel, Banbridge.

Organised by the Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Sports Forum in association with Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council and sponsored by Ulster Carpets, the awards recognise the wealth of sporting talent across the borough and celebrate the achievements of those who have excelled in their chosen sport.

Lord Mayor, Alderman Glenn Barr said, “With 39 shortlisted nominations across eight categories this is a superb indication of the abundance and vibrancy of sporting talent across the borough despite a difficult two years. Each nominee should be extremely proud of their achievements and I look forward to the awards ceremony to pass on my congratulations to all those shortlisted.”

The following nominees have been shortlisted with the winners announced at the awards ceremony.                                                    

Sports Person with a Disability
Chris Burns (Para Cycling)

Sportswoman of the Year
Kelly Mallon (Camogie, Gaelic Football & Road Bowls)
Bethany Harper (Hockey)
Jemma Farrell (Rugby)

Sportsman of the Year
Mark Nesbitt (Archery)
Kane Tucker (Boxing)
Mark Downey (Cycling)
Philip Doyle (Rowing)
Daniel Wiffin (Swimming)
Jordan Leckey (Swimming – Open Water)~
Russell White (Triathlon)

Senior Team of the Year
Craigavon Cowboys Flag Football Team
Dunbarton Bowling Club Over 55 Rink
Waringstown Cricket Club 1st XI Team
Clann Eireann Gaelic Athlete Club Senior Men’s Football Team
Banbridge Golf Club Ladies Intermediate Cup Team
Ballela Gaelic Athletic Club Senior Hurling Team
Armagh City Football Club 1st XI Team

Senior Coach of the Year
Tommy Coleman (Gaelic Football)
David Carleton (Gymnastics)
Daniel McCusker (Hurling)
Shea Campbell (Football)

Service to Sport
Stephen Curran (Cycling)
Joanne Morton (Equestrian)
Hubert Watson (Football)
David Dodds (Rugby)

Shannon Russell-Cowan (Archery)
Kathleen O’Hare (Camogie)
Mark Kendall (Cycling)
Shaun Casey (GAA)
Raymond Reid (Rugby)
David Wellwood (Rugby)
Ashley Nesbitt (Swimming)
Mark Beattie (Football)

Club of the Year
Armagh Athletic Club
Ballyvally Archers, Banbridge
St Brenda’s Camogie Club, Ballymacnab
Banbridge Cycling Club
Banbridge Golf Club

For further information contact Sarah Aiken, Assistant Sports Development OfficerT: 07733596612 or E: