Borough’s sporting champions shortlisted for Senior Sports Awards


The eagerly awaited shortlist has been announced for the 2019 Armagh, Banbridge & Craigavon Senior Sports Awards which will take place on Friday 1 March at Craigavon Civic & Conference Centre.

Organised by the Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Sports Forum in association with Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council and sponsored by Rushmere Shopping Centre, the awards recognise the wealth of sporting talent across the borough and celebrate the achievements of those who have excelled in their chosen sport.

Lord Mayor, Councillor Julie Flahery, said, “With 49 shortlisted nominations across nine categories this is a superb indication of the abundance and vibrancy of sporting talent across the borough. Each nominee should be extremely proud of their achievements and I look forward to the awards ceremony to pass on my congratulations to all those shortlisted.”

The following nominees have been shortlisted with the winners announced at the awards ceremony.

Category Name Sport
Sports Person with a Physical or Sensory Disability  

Niall McVeigh



Christopher Burns Cycling
David Kerr Triathlon
Brian Lenehan Blind Tennis
Sports Person with a Learning Disability  

David Ochiltree



Stefan McGrath Athletics
Margaret Hazley Swimming
Philip Patton Table Tennis
Gareth Cloughley Aquatics
Kevin McGlinchey Ten Pin Bowling
Niamh Campbell Aquatics
Ruth Swan Table Tennis
Sportswoman of the Year Linda Straghan Fly Fishing
Joanne Walker Archery
Emma Mitchell Athletics
Kelly Mallon Camogie, Gaelic Football

& Road Bowls

Olivia Mehaffey Golf
Catherine Beattie Lawn Bowls
Sportsman of the Year Mark Nesbitt Archery
Adam Dennison Cricket
Mark Downey Cycling
Brian Kerr Fly Fishing
Russell White Triathlon
Stephen Liggett Karate
Conor McPolin Karting
Gareth McKee Mountain Biking
James Wilson Rallying
Senior Team of the Year Craigavon Cowboys Flag Football Team
Waringstown Cricket Club Senior Men’s 1st XI
Hanover Football Club Senior Men’s 1st XI
Banbridge Golf Club, Belfast & District Team
All Saints Tullylish Bowling Club
Senior Coach of the Year Heather Ardis Athletics
Steven Hyndes Football
William Faloon Rugby
Service to Sport Alan Towell
(posthumous nomination)
Vanne Campbell MBE Equestrian/ Horse Riding
Carolyn Dean Rugby
Volunteer Martin Lennon BOCCA
Christina Towell Cycling
Trevor Morris Karate
Robbie Speers Rugby
Esther Sheridan Swimming
Club of the Year Armagh Athletics Club
Dunbarton Bowling Club
Portadown Ladies Bowling Club
Lurgan Bowling Club
City of Armagh Rugby Football Club

For further information contact Laura O’Hagan, Sports Development Assistant T: 028 4066 0637 or E: