Borough’s schools flying the eco-friendly flag!!


Fifteen schools across the Borough have showcased their environmentally friendly credentials by securing a much sought after Eco School Green Flag Award.

The international Eco-Schools programme, encourages schools to become more eco-friendly and aware of the natural environment around them.  The programme rewards schools that commit to improving their environmental performance.

Each school involved in the programme has an eco-committee made up of pupils who put together a comprehensive plan to improve their schools environmental performance in key areas such as looking after the school grounds, waste, energy, healthy eating, bio-diversity as well and raising awareness of environmental issues within the local community.

Council have been working closely with schools and pupils to assist them in developing plans for environmental improvement for the schools as well as information and resources to aid them with recycling and litter efforts.

Lord Mayor, Councillor Garath Keating, comments “I am delighted so many schools across the Borough have adopted the Eco-Schools programme and have made such a great effort to become more eco-friendly and improve their schools environmental performance.  The pupils involved are doing a brilliant job and to secure such a prestigious award is fantastic – well done to everyone and keep up the good work!”

Schools who secured the Eco School Green Flag Award are listed below:

Ballyoran Primary School – Portadown

Derryhale Primary School – Portadown

Edenderry Primary School – Portadown

Fair Hill Primary School – Dromore

Portadown Integrated Nursery and Primary School – Portadown

Tullygally Primary School – Craigavon

Mullavilly Primary School – Mullavilly

Mountnorris Primary School – Mountnorris

Presentation Primary School – Portadown

St Jarlath’s Primary School – Armagh

St Joseph’s Primary School – Madden

St Malachy’s Primary School – Armagh

St Patrick’s Primary School – Derrymacash

St Patrick’s Primary School – Aghagallon

St Patrick’s Primary School – Armagh

 Council would also like to congratulate those schools achieving bronze and silver awards – well done!

For further information contact Recycling Officer, Jennifer Cunningham, on 028 3831 2467 or email


Edenderry Primary School Mullavilly Primary School Presentation Primary School